Honoring Mabel + Jeannette

So inspired by the amazing and beautiful altars constructed in Sayulita’s plaza and at CVIS this year – Maxxi & I made our own Dia de los Muertos altar to honor my wonderful Abuelas, Jeannette Stoops and Mabel Bischoff.  Our altar has my favorite framed photo of the two of them – from our wedding reception in Kentuckiana – and some things that they both loved.

Mabel drank sweet black tea, played penny poker with her best pal Irene, and smoked like a chimney.  I hated the cigarettes and would hide them on her – she was not pleased.  We’d watch Wheel of Fortune and Magnum P.I. and eat butterscotch ice cream and have sugar biscuits for breakfast.  One time my cousins Scott & Shannon & I collected a bunch of fire-flies in a mason jar and set them all loose in her bedroom.  Jeez, we sure gave her a hard time.

Jeannette was an avid reader and a marvelous cook.  Her love of cooking and baking passed on to my dad and in turn to me.  My favorite meal of hers was fried chicken, mashed potatoes with milk gravy, and baby peas.  She made the best buckwheat pancakes with homemade syrup for breakfast.  She always used these metal bookmarks that hold your book open for you so you can read with one hand. The Hershey’s Kisses are for her, and the red backdrop is for her mother, my Great-Grandmother, Ma-Maw Stammer, whose favorite was “any color, just so it’s red.”

You amazing ladies are missed every day.  Your spirit, your hearts, your love, and your souls live on in your many children and grandchildren who carry your traditions through our lives and manifest your beings within ourselves.

QM

Leave a Reply

